IU Southeast celebrates student achievers

Gracie Vanover, Editor-in-Chief

Navigate Left
Navigate Right
  • Junior Dannon Olsen (right) and senior Sadie Rothrock (left) smile with their awards from the Student Government Association. Olsen won “Best SGA Representative” and Rothrock won “Best Senator of the Year.

  • Dean of Student Life Dr. Seuth Chaleunphonh presents the “Outstanding Grenadier Award” for students who exemplify what it means to be a leader and academic achiever on- and off-campus.

  • Sophomore Emilee Lang from the Alpha Phi sorority accepts the “Commitment to Community Outreach” award amongst organizations on campus. Alpha Phi held a Red Cross blood drive to help with the blood shortage.

  • Academic Advisor School of Education Troy Hubbard gives opening remarks for the “Campus Commitment to Student Learning Awards.”

  • Senior Breanna Doss received the “Commitment to Community Outreach” award in the individual winner category. Doss helped contribute to the MLK Day of Service that IU Southeast had on Jan. 17.

  • Title IX Coordinator James Wilkerson talks about the “Greek Law Compliance Award” that two fraternities and three sororities earned for taking his courses this school year. The courses included materials on sexual assault prevention and Green Dot Bystander Intervention training.

  • Sophomore Emilee Lang receives the “Volunteer Services Award” from Cari Edwards, staff council vice president. The award for dedicating a substantial amount of time to community service or volunteering.

  • Honors Program Director Dr. Rebekah Dement talks about the service-learning projects that nominees for the award put together. Events included practice for the Medical College Admissions Test, a Lewis and Clark educational event, and more.

  • Junior Mackenzie Hasham was one of 16 students to receive the “Volunteer Services Award” for dedicating lots of time to volunteering or serving the community. Cari Edwards, the staff council vice president, gave awards out to students.

Navigate Left
Navigate Right

On April 6 the Campus Commitment to Student Learning Awards ceremony was held in the Hoosier Room. The program titled “What’s Poppin? Leadership” was put together to reward individuals and organizations on campus for their hard work both on and off campus. Listed below are categories that were presented and their respective winners.

Volunteer Service Awards

Zoe Akers

Kinzer Flowers

Emmaly Rose

Nicholas Coles

Madalyn Marinc

Emilee Lang

Raegan Hebner

Breann Mefford

Amber Tindall

Thomas Tudor

Jillian Wise

Ty Gray

Jessica Kay

Mackenzie Hashem

Cory Anderson

Madison Trueblood

Commitment to Community Outreach Awards

Student organization category – Alpha Phi and their Red Cross Blood Drive

Individual category – Bre Doss

Jeff Owen Award

Sarah Magin

Journalism Student of the Year

Rachel Harris

Student Government Association Awards

SGA Senator of the Year – Sadie Rothrock

Best SGA Representative – Dannon Olsen

Commitment to Innovation Award

Julia Mattingly and nursing students for their health fair

Commitment to Diversity & Multiculturalism Award

Black Student Union for their Black History Month carnival

Greek Law Compliance Award

Alpha Phi sorority

Phi Sigma Sigma sorority

Sigma Kappa sorority

Tau Kappa Epsilon fraternity

Pi Kappa Alpha fraternity

Honors Program Service – Learning Award

Tien-Lu Huang – MCAT practice sessions

Cheri Receveur – Bullet journal workshops

Outstanding Grenadier Awards

Kaylee Brown

Harlee Dorman

Chelsey Gramlin

Mackenzie Hashem

Ericia Henry

Tien-Lu Huang

Gracie Kaine

Hallie Lewis

Keregyn Masterson

Niaza Mcelroy

Miranda Miller

Dannon Olsen

Hannah Powell

Sabrina Rashid

Cheri Receveur

Natalie Schapker

Amber Tindall

Gracie Vanover

Shelby Worden